CJ Mahaney writes about Michael Phelps’ embarrassing public transgression.

This is what I find so striking: A man whose chest has been covered with gold medals, has achieved international fame, showered with awards, and blessed with an incomprehensible amount of money, still feels compelled to press his face to a bong.

All this PR nightmare for Phelps reveals is that his heart is like every other human heart on planet earth. Every heart is longing for the kind of joy and satisfaction that can be found only in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. CJ’s blog reminds me of the lyrics from an old hymn by Clara T. Williams titled Satisfied.

All my life I had a longing for a drink from some cool spring that I hoped would quench the burning of the thirst I felt within

Feeding on the filth around me till my strength was almost gone, longed my soul for something better, only still to hunger on.

Poor, I was and, sought for riches, something that would satisfy, but the dust I gathered ’round me only mocked my souls sad cry.

Well of water, ever springing, Bread of Life so rich and free, untold wealth that never faileth, my Redeemer is to me.

Chorus: Hallelujah! He has found me, the One my soul so long has craved. Jesus satisfies all my longings, through His blood I know am saved.

