A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion (Proverbs 18:2).

Communication is a critical element in any relationship. However, communication implies a two-way conversation. One of the things I’m learning about myself is that in my communication I often want an audience, not an equal participant. In other words, what I love is my own voice and my own opinion more than I long to gain understanding in my relationships. At the root of this foolishness is the sin of pride.

Proverbs 18: 2 reveals several important (and destructive) truths about pride:

  • Pride loves to talk, and at the heart of this talk is self-exaltation.
  • Pride is quite content with what it already knows.
  • Pride assumes that I already understand everything I need to know since I take no pleasure in understanding.
  • Pride assumes that I don’t need help.
  • Pride denies what the gospel reveals about my fallen condition (Proverbs 10:19).
  • Pride sinfully prejudges the response of others to what I am saying because of my failure to listen in response to all of my words. It assumes that what will be said in response is of no benefit to me.

If you are interested in learning more about this issue and the appropriate response to this issue (which is humility), I encourage you to read chapter four titled “Relational Intimacy” in Gary & Betsy Ricucci’s book Love That Lasts: When Marriage Meets Grace.

