Here’s is Bock’s clarification on his comments on the Hancock church discipline case:

“To clarify here is what happened. What often happens in such an interview is some context for the response is lost in the article which is usually very short. I spoke to them over the phone for about 15 minutes while at a Christmas party last night. I said that often this kind of discipline does end up in public if there is no change. That church’s that do this make it clear in their membership classes first (I was told in this case, she did not believe they’d actually do it). I said you more often see it applied in public to leaders. That it is often applied to members in the context of their small group. (They work with them. In this case, she had a mentor who was involved). I did say that often resigning membership stops the process. (I have seen this result more than once)”

