It is beautiful outside today in Chattanooga. It’s a chilly 44 degrees (feels like the mid-30’s) with wind gusts at 21 mph. The sky is a rich blue without a cloud to pollute its radiance. The leaves display a kaledioscope of color as trees begin to reveal their nakedness. As I was stepping out of my car to meet my 3 kids and Emily for lunch I collided with the wind, chilled to the bone, and found myself thinking of those who have no place to sleep tonight. As beautiful as it is outside today, I wouldn’t want to have to sleep outside tonight without shelter.

At lunch we prayed for God’s common grace toward the homeless and hungry today. The Scriptures teach us that God is pleased to do this.

For he [God] make his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and the unjust. – Matthew 5:44

The Lord is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made. – Psalm 145:9

The eyes of all look to you and you give them their food in due season. You open your hand; you satisfy the desire of every living thing. – Psalm 145: 15-16

Lord Jesus, care for your image-bearers today, both fallen and redeemed, for the sake of Your name.

