I’ve completely fallen off the blogging map and I sincerely apologize to my readership of three. I’ll try to do better in the coming weeks. But, quite honestly, I’ve been busy. Sadly, I can’t say that I’ve been busy with many matters of significance or primary importance. I’m realizing that, on some level, I’m maintaining a schedule of secondary priorities to the exclusion of the most important things. Recently C.J. Mahaney wrote about when our busyness really manifests itself as laziness rather than diligence. You can read the entire article here, but here’s an appetizer.

…the realization that I could be simultaneously busy and lazy, that I could be a hectic sluggard, that my busyness was no immunity from laziness, became a life-altering and work-altering insight. What I learned is that:

  • Busyness does not mean I am diligent
  • Busyness does not mean I am faithful
  • Busyness does not mean I am fruitful

Recognizing the sin of procrastination, and broadening the definition to include busyness, has made a significant alteration in my life. The sluggard can be busy—busy neglecting the most important work, and busy knocking out a to-do list filled with tasks of secondary importance.

On an unrelated matter, I’ve been encouraged by this quote from John Calvin today:

Men are never duly touched and impressed with a conviction of their insignifiance until they have considered themselves with the majesty of God.

Of primary importance in my life is the demand of the gospel that I shine the spotlight on the glory and majesty of God – not myself. Not my abilities, nor my family, or my ministry. God on center stage. God on center stage in the mundane tasks of life. God on center stage in the way I manage my schedule. God on center stage in my family. God on center stage in my marriage. God on center stage in the privacy of my thoughts. Only this focus makes Him significant and me insignificant. I think this is what John meant when he wrote, “He must increase. I must decrease” (3:30).

 

