Yesterday I had privilege of attending Wednesday’s practice round and Par 3 tournament at The Masters in Augusta, GA with my pregnant wife of 8 months. I had received the tickets as a Christmas present from my mother-in-law. It was definately one of the best presents I’ve received.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect since I’ve only seen Augusta National on television. I knew that the course was long (approximately 6,000 yards) so I expected it to be spread out, each holed fenced in by boundaries of pine trees and azaleas, but found the course to be rather compact. It was, of course, stunning in its beauty. There are no weeds at Augusta National. While the work of the grounds crew is impressive, it was truly the glory of the Creator on display. God made; Augusta just arranges the furniture is such a way as to maximize the display of God’s creative genius.

I found the scenary to be breath-taking, the patrons friendly and the accomodations quaint but nice. I was surprised at how economical the food prices were ($1.50 for a famous egg salad or pimento cheese sandwich). I was equally pleased to find the pro shop prices to be reasonable (if you call spending anywhere from $50 to $100 on a golf shirt reasonable).

The first golfer we saw was Jack Nickolas. We also saw Arnold Palmer, Zac Johnson (last year’s champ), Jose Marie Olazabal (’99 champ), and more. But the main draw, of course, is Tiger Woods. I was glad to see him on the practice green. I got a few nice shots. All I can say is that I hope Tiger puts better today through Sunday than he did yesterday.

All in all it was a fantastic experience and, Lord-willing, I’ll get to go again sometime.

