Denny Burk posts a helpful article about even though individuals on both sides of the debate may claim a high view of the authority of Scripture, they can’t both be right, which means that we can’t validate each argument as right in its own eyes. The real concern is in the fact that by affirming each view equally for the sake of diversity and agreement, we actually do damage to one another in our understanding of biblical masculinity and femininity. Burk says:

Those of us involved in the conversation must not be content merely that the other side professes a high view of scripture. If my complementarian understanding of the Bible is wrong, then I am doing damage to myself and to others whom I influence with my views, and I need to be corrected no matter how loudly I profess inerrancy. If the egalitarians are wrong, then they are doing damage to themselves and to those whom they influence, and they need to be corrected now matter how vociferously they may profess allegiance to the text.

You can read the whole article here.

