John Piper is, without question, one of my spiritual mentors and heroes. Truth be told, sometimes he seems larger than life to me. His passion for the gospel of Jesus and unbending devotion to God’s Word seem almost supernatural in comparision with my sometimes weak-willed experience with Jesus. There are days when he seems to possess something in relationship to God that seems out of reach for the common person. Sadly, perhaps this says more about me than it does about Piper. But I digress. God has used this man to open up the glory of Jesus and the gospel in ways that virtually inexpressible. Yet, he is still a man, and it is his son, Abraham, who recently helped us to see that through his humorous, yet obviously loving and respectful introduction of his father at the Desiring God National conference last week. You can also read the text of his introduction http://www.desiringgod.org/Blog/1064/.

